Filipino travel, adventures, and trips…

Marikina Infanta Motorcycle Road Trip (Marcos Highway; Marikina City to Infanta Quezon)

Safe motorcycle riding is more fun in the Philippines

This is Marcos Highway / Marikina-Infanta road. I’d like to share my experiences traversing this road as of March 2012. A scenic drive, it offers spectacular views of the Sierra Madre Mountain range as well as the Laguna Bay. Why the name Marikina-Infanta road on most maps? simple, the road begins at Marikina City, Metro Manila and ends at the municipality of Infanta, Quezon province. It’s just one road all the way.

The road is now approximately 97 percent complete, thanks to DPWH. The entire stretch from Marikina to Quezon is passable but I hope it would be 100 percent complete so that the entire route can be utilized to its full potential.

I used EveryTrail GPS to track my journey. I forgot to turn it on, good thing I noticed it when I was still at the area of Robinson’s Metro East, Pasig. For map details, please visit my EveryTrail page at:

EveryTrail.com Interactive Map Page Link

I’ll share more details on the latter part (countryside) of the highway which is past Barangay San Jose in Antipolo Rizal.

This is the bridge after the Cogeo area at Marcos Highway, Antipolo Rizal. I think most motorists would agree with me that there are lots of obstructions (traffic, road problems) up to this part of the highway. There are less obstructions starting from this bridge, justa few small town areas.

Puting bato area, Marcos Highway.

uphill to Baras, Rizal. Saw several bicycle riders.

Garden Cottages Nature Park and Residential Estate, Marcos Highway, Baras, Rizal.

Can’t help but be amazed of the views.

Zigzag roads, Tanay Rizal Area, along kilometer 50 post.

Look at those trees…

Sierra Madre Mountain Resort, Marcos Highway, Tanay Rizal.

Pranjetto Hills Hotel and Resort, Tanay Rizal

Crossroads

Road straight (double yellow line) leads to Tanay Adventure Camp and University of Rizal Main Campus. Road to right (Marcos Highway; double orange line) leads to Sampaloc Town Proper. There are two gasoline stations at Sampaloc, Tanay: Flying V and Shell. These are the last gasoline stations en route to Infanta. There’s no gas station for the next 80 kilometers.

1st road obstruction that I’ve encountered, at Barangay Jose Laurel, Santa Maria, Laguna. The right side of the road collapsed on the ravine below and less than one-half of the original paved road is passable. Motorcycles can pass at the left side. Trucks won’t fit. The sight of the ravine is somewhat acrophobic as shown in the picture below.

2nd road obstruction, still at Santa Maria, Laguna, one lane of paved road is passable.

3rd road obstruction, the 1st unpaved, off-road portion. Looks easy on the picture but it was challenging on the actual scale, especially if you have a bike designed for paved roads. Based on my odometer, this first unpaved portion is approximately 400 meters long.

The road is paved again after 200 meters of rough road, and it’s much better.

One of the few waterfalls that can be seen alongside the road.

Kilometer 100 post, at Real, Quezon. There’s a restaurant near this area.

More mountain views, Rizal province is now at the farthest part of the photo.

More roads up

on the way to the Summit. The place looks similar to Baguio and the climate is very cold.

one of the views at the Summit, elevation 762 meters or 2,500 feet above sea level. No cellular phone signal. I was just running at around 40 kph because of the strong winds.

start of the descent. Check brakes, the roads are really steep.

I got dizzy on this downward portion. The cars were going up at around 10 kph because of the road gradient of approx. 40 degrees.

a piece of advice, never ignore the road signs, watch out for falling rocks. There are signs on critical parts of the road, specifying if the approach is ascending, descending, sharp curve, etc.

All of the bridges are now complete.

4th road obstruction, 2nd unpaved road portion with a length of approximately 450 meters.

When you see “Agos” River with the blue water as shown in the picture, it means that you’re already near Infanta, Quezon.

Barangay Magsaysay, Marcos Highway, Infanta, Quezon. The 1st barangay after the countryside.

At last, the edge of Marcos Highway, Marikina – Infanta Road. 120 kilometers from SM City Marikina (140 from Rizal Park, Manila) The Infanta town marker can be seen on the photo’s background. The road straight ahead is the Siniloan-Famy-Real-Infanta road, leading to General Luna Street on the Infanta town proper.

Welcome arch, approaching Infanta via Siniloan-Famy-Real-Infanta road.

I went to Barangay Dinahican Fish Port at General Luna Street, at the edge of the map. Another 15 kilometers from the town marker.

Infanta Fish Port

Petron Gasoline Station at Dinahican, Infanta, Quezon. There are five gasoline stations in Infanta. Three Petron gas stations, one Caltex at the town proper, and one Flying V. (The Shell gas station was closed)

Dinahican Fish Port

I took a rest. I went to Cote d’ Azur beach resort near the fish port.

Resort Area

The Pacific Ocean beach at Infanta Quezon. (somewhat muddy)

Facing Pacific Ocean

On my way back to Manila, I decided to try the Siniloan-Famy-Real-Infanta road and I regret it somehow.  It’s the road on the left, with the tricycles passing by. The road on the right is Marcos Highway where I came from. The portion at Real Quezon is okay, but when the ascending part begins, the road starts becoming terrible. There were so many potholes and the like along the way. Some parts of the road were being rehabilitated, one lane passable, and it was really muddy.

Marcos Highway signage on the way back to Manila.

Siniloan-Famy-Real-Infanta road signage on the way back to Manila.

Boundary of Real and Infanta Quezon. (Manila bound)

roadside beach at Real

It took me three hours one way. I was running at about 40 kph on some portions because of the strong winds and slippery road surfaces. I recommend bringing along a raincoat because it keeps on raining on some of the mountainous portions. Also, tire grip is very important. It is not advisable to traverse these roads if a bike has worn out tires. Motorcycling and sight-seeing is indeed more fun in the Philippines.

EveryTrail.com Interactive Map Page Link

21 responses

  1. This is a very informative blog for me since I’ve been planning on going to Infanta using the same route…I will be using a car but not sure if this road / route is finished..thanks to your post I’m able to check which part of the map has obstructions…By the way, did you use iphone or a separate GPS? This blog is really cool not just with the pictures, but you also were able to capture the key points along the road, plus the altitude too..I also leave in Marikina and been checking out your post today…i’ll be checking again and see if you will ever post some of the bike lanes or parks in marikina heights. Thanks man!

    June 12, 2012 at 2:35 am

    • Hello there! Thank you for reading my blog. I’m also not sure If the unfinished portions are already done. Anyway, I think cars would easily fit the unpaved/unfinished areas because I saw some cars passing along. The unfinished portions are only short, I measured them along with the altitude using GPS.

      I used iPhone with EveryTrail Pro as the GPS application because it automatically pinpoints the photos I’ve taken on the map; and the maps are stored offline that’s why tracking is real-time.

      The route’s really nice. Good thing I brought a jacket along since the temperature dropped to 13 degrees Celsius at the Summit (I also have a thermometer.)

      Yeah, I’m also planning on finishing my drafts on parks and places at the Marikina heights area. Once completed, I also plan on posting about the Bike lanes constructed by the DPWH on both sides of the entire stretch of Marcos Highway. I’ve seen the one of the signage being installed yesterday at one point and I must say, I’m impressed, and they look similar to that of the U.S. Have a safe trip!

      June 12, 2012 at 2:57 pm

  2. Hey, nice info! Thanks for sharing. I have been to these roads, Marilaque and Famy-Siniloan-Real-Infanta Road a number of times for the last 12 years. I was just in Sierra Madre Resort last June 12, 2012 and I can attest the roads are impeccable.

    The first time I traversed Marilaque was in 2000 and the road was only up to Tanay. It’s either you take a left, a right or go back. The last time I drove at the other highway, was in 2007. Yup, it was bad then, and judging from your words, it didnt got any better after all.

    My question is, do you think it is advisable to drive a car all the way up to Infanta at Marilaque Road? Your insight will be very much appreciated as I plan to drive the full length of Marilaque sometime soon.

    Just a footnote on the difference between the 2 highways, granting both of them are in good road conditions; Marilaque is indeed scenic, very much so. But so is Famy-Infanta Road.There will countless mini falls along the way where you can playfully wallow and no one would mind. Plus, once you reach the downslope near the border of Real and Famy, facing the Pacific Ocean, the weather and the wind gusts changes dramatically. as if you were in a pacific island.

    June 16, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    • Hi Lester! Thanks for reading my blog. The Marilaque (Marcos Highway) road has indeed improved, especially on the Quezon side. I can’t really say if it is advisable for cars because of one obstruction at Santa Maria Laguna. It’s right after Sampaloc Tanay.
      Last time I checked (March 2012), cars still fit the remaining road portion (please check my EveryTrail map) but I don’t know if that section has been repaired or if the landslide has gone worse.

      I agree, Famy-Real-Infanta road is indeed scenic. In fact, it is breath-taking. We traversed that road on the way back to Manila but before doing so, we tried descending back the down-slope first, and you’re right, the wind and the “feel” changes dramatically. Have a safe trip!

      June 27, 2012 at 10:32 am

  3. Wow, looks like a very long ride and beautiful sceneries along the way. Did you by chance stopped by at the waterfalls?

    Interesting facts about the road route, you must have enjoyed this ride. I’m sure you’ll do this again…

    Thanks for sharing! :)

    June 27, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  4. NIce info. We’re going there tommorow with my BUTAW friends in college. Hope to drive as safe in our journey. Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

    August 26, 2012 at 11:27 am

  5. Hi! Very nice blog, good to read, may I know how long is the approximate time travel via, motorbike using the same road, to real Quezon… thanks for sharing :)

    November 18, 2012 at 8:59 am

    • travel time would be at around two hours if the weather is good. You’ll just have to turn right when you reach the end of Marcos Highway if you want to go to Real Quezon and Laguna, turning left would bring you to Infanta, Quezon.

      November 18, 2012 at 11:02 pm

  6. its really valuable information whom have plan to go infanta by motor bike..
    can i ask u about information of hotels in infanta? just wanna know the price and conditions…
    ill come to read it again… thanks ^^

    December 14, 2012 at 6:55 am

    • yes, there are some hotels and resorts in infanta facing the pacific ocean. one that I’ve been to is cote d azur beach resort and hotel. price is about 3,000 pesos per night, similar to prices of hotels and beach resorts in batangas.

      December 31, 2012 at 12:57 pm

  7. hi, im planning to go to infanta next week, do you have a contact number of Cote d’ Azure? im trying to contact them in their website but no one answers. :)

    January 16, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    • i think there’s a contact number on one of my photographs but if it doesn’t work then maybe they have a new updated number.

      October 30, 2013 at 10:08 am

  8. Pingback: Beauty behind Infanta, Quezon | DAYANERA

  9. Hi! I just want to let you know that I included your website in my blog. Cause it’s really informative and detailed. :) Thanks!

    July 31, 2013 at 11:28 am

    • Thanks! Glad you’ve visited my blog.

      October 30, 2013 at 10:07 am

      • I love reading blogs especially about travel.

        October 30, 2013 at 10:40 am

  10. Hi! I’m from Infanta, I was born there. Last July I visited my family there. From manila, We took the Marilaque road(our first time). And yes, there are so many beautiful sceneries along the way. So many motorcyclist were passing the road, maybe because it was weekend that time. We took a rest and stop at “pinlak”, it’s a famous waterfalls located at Brgy. Magsaysay, Infanta. You can check that place next time. Everyone knew that place, so it’s not that hard to find it. Thanks to your blog! I loved reading it!..:)

    December 5, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    • Hello there! Thank you for visiting my blog. Marilaque Marcos Highway is scenic indeed. We’re trying to enjoy it while the route isn’t much populated yet, well in a few years time I think development would come along its way. I haven’t seen Pinlak en route, I’ll check it out next time. Thanks for the tip.

      December 6, 2013 at 9:30 pm

  11. thank you so much for the trip….we are planning to take our 1st trip to infanta probably this 1st qtr 2014……how are the places to stay in infanta? are there rooms for a big family with a kitchen?

    February 12, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    • Hello There! Thank you for visiting my blog. Yes, there are some resorts in Infanta which has individual cottages big enough to accommodate a family, one of which is Cote D’ Azur which is featured in my blog. I’m not sure about the contact number but probably they have some sort of a webpage of their own.

      February 22, 2014 at 8:09 pm

  12. thank you sir for featuring our underrated place…so many things to do in infanta! tomorrow ill be exploring infanta. th falls the river and some secret gems of the city :)

    February 27, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.